SALA – The South African Literary Awards

SALA – The South African Literary Awards

About the South African Literary Awards

Founded by the wRite associates, in partnership with the National Department of Arts and Culture in 2005, the main aim of the South African Literary Awards is to pay tribute to South African writers who have distinguished themselves as ground-breaking producers and creators of literature, while it celebrates literary excellence in the depiction and sharing of South Africa’s histories, value systems and philosophies and art as inscribed and preserved in all the languages of South Africa, particularly the official languages.

The SA Literary Awards are endeavouring to become the most prestigious and respected literary accolades in the South African literary landscape.

To date, the Awards have honoured 121 South African authors in 11 categories

  1. South African National Poet Laureate Prize
  2. Lifetime Achievement Literary Award
  3. Posthumous Literary Award
  4. K. Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award
  5. Nadine Gordimer Short Story Award
  6. Literary Journalism Award
  7. Literary Translators Award
  8. Poetry Award
  9. First Time Published Author
  10. Creative Non-fiction Literary Award
  11. Chairperson’s Award


All the awards recognize work in all South Africa’s official languages.

SALA has  also established a series of legacy programmes, which include:

  1.  The Africa Century International African Writers Conference established in 2012


  1. The Lecture series comprising:

2.1. The Keorapetse Kgositsile Lecture

2.2. The Miriam Tlali Lecture

2.3. The Women’s March Lecture

2.4. The Media Freedom Lecture and

2.5. The Hugh Masekela Lecture

3. The Miriam Tlali Reading & Book Club established in 2009

4. Band of Troubadours, a publication and

5. The Poet Laureate Programme

Leave a Reply